ARE YOU SLAGGING INSANE?
- I thought I covered that in the pinned post…
SO WHICH CARDS ARE ELIGIBLE FOR THIS SHINDIG?
- Only the quadralingual POWER OF THE PRIMES cards generally available in North American retailers, with the caveat that the 4x English error cards released with Legends-class DINOBOT SLASH are also eligible. If proper quadralingual cards for DINOBOT SLASH are released, those are eligible as well. No other region’s cards that do not match the correct formatting of the North American releases are eligible. No cards from any other toyline, TRANSFORMERS or otherwise, are eligible.
- (Though if you’ve got something like the MAGNA JET CONVOY giveaway card from MICRON DENSETSU, I sure wouldn’t scoff at a side transaction…)
WHY ‘STRAIGHT FROM THE MATRIX’?
- …Waaaaaspinator has plaaaans!
HOW AM I SHIPPING THESE CARDS TO YOU, YA WEIRDO?
- With reasonable care through USPS. A small bubble mailer envelope purchased at Walmart will do very nicely to see that the cards arrive in good condition, but even I wouldn’t necessarily recommend that if one card is all you have to send–that’s where sandwiching the card inbetween a couple sheets of cardboard that fill most of a paper envelope will generally do well enough to discourage bending by any of the hands or machines of the USPS.
NO, NO, STUPID, I MEANT–WHAT’S YOUR ADDRESS?
- You’ll get that in the response to your entry. Check your email! And add this site’s name with no spaces at gmail period com to your address book or whitelist!
DO I HAVE TO LIVE IN NORTH AMERICA?
- If you can get a card as described in SO WHICH CARDS ARE ELIGIBLE FOR THIS SHINDIG, go for it—though in international cases, I would DEFINITELY require use of a bubble mailer envelope. But yeah, if you live in ol’ Blighty or somesuch, sent a proper card properly, and got your name drawn, sure, I’ll ship your prize.
HOW SOON DO I HAVE TO SHIP MY ENTRY/IES?
- In as timely a fashion as possible, but I have no problems with an entrant attempting to strike a balance between that and saving on the shipping and packaging costs, especially when we’re all subjects to the vagaries of distribution.
JUST CUSTOMS FOR PRIZES, HUH?
- Heh. Heh heh heh.
- You caught me. Here’s a reward, of sorts, for actually reading the FAQ—excuse me, the FQYMA. I have some random bits of TRANSFORMERS merchandise I and my wife have picked up through the decades of collecting…and I’ve randomly selected some cards that, as of the posting of this FQYMA, that I haven’t yet acquired. I’ve matched merch to card, and the participant that sends that card will get the corresponding item. Just a little bit of additional thanks for helping out. And yes, any such winners are still just as much in the running for the customs—one card still equals one entry, even if the card nets the participant one of the random items.
Please see ARE YOU, LIKE, ELIGIBLE SOMEHOW for a additional information on the random prizes–oh, look, it’s right below.
ARE YOU, LIKE, ELIGIBLE SOMEHOW?
- Am I playing to win, too? No. I do, however, have to contribute to the card collection effort myself, as I can’t reasonably be expected to NOT buy the toys. So there is going to be at least one card from each toy that has cards available (anything that isn’t a Prime Master, basically) that won’t be open for submission. FURTHER, I will only ‘unlock’ a toy’s cards for submission once I have my own copy, and the corresponding card will be X’d as part of that update. The customs fodder will also net me additional cards, and those will be X’d as well. Any such cards will be added to the chart as quickly as possible (meaning, at least as soon as I return home from purchasing it—or sooner, if I can make the update over Wi-Fi) so as to stave off as much potential conflict as possible. Should I find a message regarding such a card from a participant sent before I could make an update, I’ll suck it up and allow it.
- Should it happen that a toy that I purchase is the only one immediately available to me and it contains one of the preselected random-prize cards, I will move the prize to another card AND just for kicks, I will add another random prize card spot. I have holdbacks enough for several such occurrences, though I will do my utmost to avoid them as best I can. (I’m mostly concerned about the boxed toys, as regards this possibility.) This is more a behind-the-scenes thing, really, as the random stuff is meant to be a surprise, so…not gonna talk about ’em much. Just trying to keep things honest and enjoyable.
SO, WHERE’S THE CHART?
HOW ARE YOU GONNA HANDLE DUPLICATE ENTRIES?
- Cards will be accepted in the order received through the submissions via the entry form. If someone has already ‘reserved’ the right to submit a given card through the entry form, participants who submit subsequent entries which include that card will be informed that the spot is provisionally taken. Reserved spots will be marked on the chart in blue as PENDING; cards that arrive in my hands as entries will be marked in green as RECEIVED. (My personal acquisitions are the black X spaces, to be clear.) Should a participant ‘default’ on sending a card they have reserved, for whatever reason, the next most recent participant to submit a reservation for that card will be informed and asked if they would still like to send that card. Reservation markings will be made on the chart in as timely a fashion as possible. — ADDENDUM: please note the celebratory exception made for Rodimus Unicronus. You have that card and wish to use it as an entry, don’t worry if I have it–and indeed, you won’t be able to tell by referring to the Chart–by all means, send it.